Album vol onuitgebracht werk van Jeff Buckley verwacht
Door op 13 november 2015

Artiest: Jeff Buckley
Album_title: You And I
Genre: Alternative
Label: Legacy/Sony

Platenmaatschappij Columbia/Legacy heeft een nieuw album van Jeff Buckley aangekondigd met daarop 8 covers en 2 originele nummers. Het album, met de titel You And I komt uit op 11 maart 2016. Daarnaast zal ook Jeff Buckley’s versie van de Sly Stone song Every Day People op 27 november beschikbaar zijn als limited edition 7′ inch voor Black Friday met het origineel van Sly & The Family Stone op de b-kant.

Het nieuw uit te brengen materiaal werd gevonden in de Columbia Records-archieven tijdens de research naar het 20-jarige bestaan van het album Grace. Adam Block, President Legacy Recordings over de vondst: ‘As we began to explore how we might celebrate the 20th anniversary of Jeff Buckley’s Grace, the vault–as it still occasionally and unexpectedly will–presented us with an unbelievable gift: this “lost” cache of studio recordings from the period. We quickly realized how remarkable they were. They offer an incredible, rare glimpse of an artist, alone, in the sacred space that is the studio. There’s an intimacy and an honesty to the performances that’s literally breathtaking. ‘You & I’ is an important addition to Jeff’s recorded legacy and will be a thrill for both his devoted longtime fans and newcomers alike’.

Het album bevat onder andere Jeff Buckley’s interpretaties van nummers als Just Like A Woman van Bob Dylan, Night Flight van Led Zeppelin en twee covers van The Smiths.

Any time I take a cover and wear it on my sleeve, it’s because it had something to do with my life and still marks a time in my life when I needed that song more than anything ever’ aldus Jeff Buckley in een interview in 1994 voor Plane Truth fanzine.

Naast de 8 covers staan er ook 2 van Buckley’s originele eerste studio-opnames van de nummers Grace en Dream Of You And I.

Tracklisting You And I :

  1. Just Like A Woman (Bob Dylan cover)
  2. Everyday People (Sly & The Family Stone cover)
  3. Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Cryin’ (First recorded by Louis Jordan)
  4. Grace (original)
  5. Calling You (Jevetta Steele cover)
  6. Dream Of You And I (original)
  7. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (The Smiths cover)
  8. Poor Boy Long Way From Home (traditional blues song, Bukka White cover)
  9. Night Flight (Led Zeppelin cover)
  10. I Know It’s Over (The Smiths cover)